The Sexism in Enforcing Gender Roles

I’m a woman with masculine qualities. I cuss. I’m sarcastic. I can be angry and aggressive. I am loud. I don’t hold back my thoughts, in fact it’s quite hard for me to hold back anything I feel passionate about. I’ve been called rude and told that my tone is overbearing or too “sassy.” 

Although these are things that are deemed unfeminine, I take pride in my ability to speak my mind and push the boundaries of gender roles. 

I am outspoken, mostly due to the fact that I was essentially silenced as a teenager by my peers. Now I make sure I am not silenced, especially as a woman. 

And it’s true that being a woman is “bad.” If it wasn’t, there wouldn’t be experiments made up to make sure boys aren’t like women. Do we not want our boys to have “feminine” qualities because society hates women that much? Or does it go deeper than that? How can we dictate human qualities based on gender? Can it be measured?

I don’t like enforced gender roles just as much as I don’t like any enforced stereotypical behavior of any group of people. I am constantly challenging myself and those around me. 

“While sexism hurts women most intimately, it also damages men severely” ~Kathleen Hanna, Lead Singer of 90s Punk Rock Band “Bikini Kill” 

One thought on “The Sexism in Enforcing Gender Roles

  1. Honestly, I have never viewed cussing, sarcasm, anger, actively expressing my thoughts, or being especially passionate about something as “masculine.” I do, however, believe that people who have already bought the lie that these behaviors are, somehow, seated in the domain of “manliness” actually believe these to be “male” behaviors.

    In the 50+ years that I have known my mother, I have never heard her curse. She, herself, taught me that it wasn’t “ladylike.” I, conversely, can curse with the best of them when I think it to be the most effective way to get my point across — and I don’t feel like any less of a “lady” or woman as a result. I’m just grateful and geeked that I have so many different options for expressing my thoughts. In fact, I would like to think that I express myself, well, and passionately, because I am a strong, intelligent woman — not because I have, somehow, trespassed “male territory.”

Leave a Reply

